Frequently Asked Questions | PMI® Related

  1. What does PMI® stand for?

PMI® stands for Project Management Institute®. It is a nonprofit organization started in the United States in 1969. It has grown into a global professional society with membership exceeding 400,000 in more than 150 countries.

  1. What is PMI® R.E.P.?

In 1999 PMI® established a program to help “recognize” training providers offering management training: this program is called the Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.) program. SUKAD has been an REP since 2003, one of the first in West Asia and North Africa.

  1. What does it mean if a company claims to be a R.E.P.?

This signifies that the company has been reviewed and approved as a provider of project management training by PMI®. Furthermore, PMI® considers this company to be in compliance with its quality requirements. However this does not mean that PMI® endorses the R.E.P. company or its courses. Also not every REP means the company is good, we have known providers that are highly limited and do not even have project managers on staff.

  1. Are the R.E.P. organizations the only one that can grant PDU? (Professional Development Unit)

Granting – yes but this is misleading. Any project management learning activity will earn a professional PDU, but you will have to claim for them. The key difference is that non-R.E.P. PDU claims the professional has to claim them and they could be subject to more scrutiny than those earned from an R.E.P. Some REP will try to tell you that you need a course from an approved REP and this is not true.

Again – we know some REPs who do not know the difference between framework and methodology or project life cycle and process groups and they can lecture on the PMBOK® Guide. We also know non-REP who are leaders in delivering project management learning services.

  1. How can I earn PDU?

There are so many ways to earn PDU, including self-study, volunteering, providing free project management services to non-profit organizations, publishing a professional paper, presenting on project management topic … etc. Refer to PMI® Continuing Recertification Requirements for official rules and guidelines.

  1. What is the difference between Contact hour and PDU?

PDU is only applicable for a certified individual. It does not exist before achieving the certification. A contact hour is equivalent to one hour of “structured learning” such as in classroom. Self-study does not allow for contact hours but will earn you PDU.

  1. What is the PMP®?

The PMP® has become the most common and internationally recognized certifications in the world. PMP® stands for Project Management Professional® and is offered by PMI®. To earn this credential, a person has to meet PMI®’s minimum requirements and pass a multiple choice exam.

  1. What are the requirements to pre-qualify for the PMP®?

The initial PMP® application that you submit to PMI® is also a pre-qualification questionnaire. Once you pre-qualify (accepted by PMI®) you have twelve months to take the exam. The purpose of the Pre-qualification process is to ensure that you have the proper education and experience for the certification.

  1. Do I have to be engineer to become PMP®?

No. You do not even have to be a college graduate. If you don’t have a bachelor degree, then you must have more years of experience in project management than an individual with a degree.

  1. How does PMI® calculate the experience hours required for pre-qualification?

The method used is irrelevant. All what PMI® is looking for is for the individual to have project management experience, 4500 hours and a college degree or 7500 hours without a degree. In the last two years, the requirement, which we do not think PMI® is enforcing, is for the candidate to have the experience in leading projects whereas in the past leading tasks was enough.

  1. I heard once certified that I have to recertify? What is this all about?

The PMP® is not a lifetime achievement award. The concept is if are professional in this field, then you must maintain your qualifications by continuing education. You must earn 60 PDU every three years in order for PMI® to re-certify you. There are many ways to earn PDU and training is one of them.

For CAPM® there is no re-certification – you have to either move up to the PMP® or retake the exam.

For the other PMI® certifications, each has its own rules and guidelines.

“A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) © 2014 Project Management Institute, Inc. All Rights Reserved.”